Can You Tell Which Ones Are Considered Fine Art?

I have been seeing a sponsored link on my Facebook page from an art auction company called Paddle 8.  I was intrigued and checked out their site.  It was full of contemporary art one could bid for online.  Sort of like a high end artsy ebay.

However upon further investigation I was amazed at how ugly and ridiculous the art was.  Seriously. Yet, all of this rubbish was being praised and described in such lofty attributes, I for a moment thought the Onion had taken of Paddle 8.

Example on one piece of ‘art’, the description reads “Succo’s contemporary take on abstraction is grounded in a desire to see patterns emerge through repeated gestural activity. Working in a limited, nearly monochromatic palette, the trace of the artist’s hand becomes the principal agent of expression. Here, in “UNTITLED [RB#1]” cyclical flourishes dance over an icy, blue-grey surface of lacquer and oil paint.”  WTF does that even mean?  Either way, the starting price is….wait for it……$9,000.00!  LOLOLOL

Here is what their trying to pawn off as art.  (and they will probably succeed.)

This actually looks like my drop cloth.

1435271229-kcgiy4snfatglasan2ff-xl

 

Anyway, I thought I would try an experiment and submit a piece of my abstract art for consideration to be auctioned off at Paddle 8.

I submitted with a lofty description of how I use found medium to convey a sense of sustainability in the pieces.  I incorporate acrylic, oil, gold leaf and objects for a textured and layered visage.  I thought this description conveyed the proper pretentiousness for  my experiment.

However, since I’m not a ‘listed’ artist, I was rejected with a curt, but polite email.

For a moment I was slightly hurt, but then again, I realized the rejection might possibly be a compliment.

Anyway, I thought I would see if my readers could tell the difference between which one I submitted and which ones are actually up for sale at this very moment for thousands of dollars.

Here goes.  Which of these four paintings are being sold on Paddle 8 for thousands of dollars and which one is hanging in my bathroom.

A.

1435271199-z1dpbrtc2tjgk6mz3bw4-xl

B.

unnamed-8

 

C.

1435271199-g8f4mmbrcluxd4tliehx-xl

 

D.

1435271219-btyuck50wk7iengfgao2-xl

 

Here are the links to see if you answered correctly.

A. “Untitled” 2013

B. “Untitled” 2014

C. “Never Lost” 2014

D. “Bright and Contemporary” 2014

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

