Move to the Beach

I have live, worked, married, raise children, divorced and found love a second time around all within the county of Los Angeles.  I am an original Valley Girl, but I have always dreamed of living by the beach.

Since I was a teenager I have been venturing up to the Ventura county beach of Silverstrand in Oxnard.  Back in the 70’s my parents bought a little cottage for practically nothing and over the years I spent many happy weekends there.

Fast forward thirty-five years and I finally made it.    I am here.  I am at the ocean.  We are a few beaches up from my beloved Silverstrand at a beach called Oxnard Shores.  I am sixteen houses from the ocean.  I wake up to the sounds of the surf and in the evenings I sit on my little upstairs patio and watch what seems to be the most beautiful sunset I have ever seen.  Until the next one!

The house we are living in is a funky modge podge of 70’s, 80’s and 90’s.  But it’s got great bones.  Vaulted ceilings and two outdoor spaces.  A large spacious kitchen and a fireplace. I am in heaven.

Of course none of my old furniture really fits, but for now, I am making due. It’s kind of nice to finally have too much space.

I’ll be posting pics, but here are a few of my favorite spots.

My upstairs patio.

image

The 70’s style stained glass.
image

Nothing like cliche beach decor!image

The guest room is ready!image

The disco ball was one of the first things hung up.image

My favorite spot. ….along with Winston the cat.image

Typical sunset.  Taken from my local market parking lot.

20150311_190819_HDR

Just another day at the beach.20150315_140101~2

View from my office window.20150316_065209_HDR

The fireplace!!  So missed having one.20150319_143614

The walking path behind my house the leads to the beach.20150319_143704_HDR

Our little backyard space.
20150319_143623

Leave a Reply

