Turn Your Old Frames into Glam Frames

While browsing through some of my favorite blogs and procrastinating on doing laundry, I came across a great blogger game started by Jennifer at Jennifer Rizzo. Yes, there are blogger games. Who knew? I want in! This group of super creative people got together and bought one item and received one item from a thrift store. Whatever you got, you have to remake it in a new and interesting way.

The concept is so inspiring and it’s so positive. Instead of landfills, these every day weird, wacky and mundane items are upcycled into something beautiful!

I was so into all the idea, I had to stop myself from running over to the American Way and filling my cart! Luckily I have enough junk stuff lying around myself, so I decided to try one of the ideas posted by Beth from Home Stories A to Z.

Initially she was given a very cool gold leaf tray, so instead of transforming it she styled it.

Along the way, she had a great idea for all the old frames one has lying around. I love this idea as I like trays. It makes me feel relatively organized, which is kind of delusional, but oh well. I like trays.

So, here is my transformation.

 

I have an 8×10 frame and a 5×7 frame I decided to use, some left over fabric, scissors.

_MG_5792

and of course my trusty Krylon spray paint.

_MG_5806

 

I took apart the frames and cut the fabric the size of the backing.

_MG_5793

 

 

When using geometric prints, it’s important to line up the pattern otherwise you will be annoyed every time you look at your masterpiece. I cleaned and sanded the black frames, then painted them gold.

I popped it all back together and I have to say it was pretty simple and quick. For one who can get a little impatient with DIY stuff, I was immediately gratified when I finished. _MG_5796

For one who can get a little impatient with DIY stuff, I was immediately gratified when I finished. I love instant gratification!

Here is the 5×7 finished product.

._MG_5797

Now, I can’t decide where to use it.

In the bathroom?

_MG_5798

_MG_5800

On my desk?

_MG_5822

 

Here is the 8×10 matching frame.

_MG_5807

 

 

I’m having the same issues. Do I use it to hold the remote?

_MG_5815_MG_5816

 

Or hold my letter opener by my front door? Oh well, this is what we call a ‘quality problem’.

_MG_5808 _MG_5814

 

So, that’s it. Paint + fabric + every day items + inspiration = good stuff.

One thought on “Turn Your Old Frames into Glam Frames

Leave a Reply

