My Horrid Confession

I have a confession to make.  It’s something I’m not proud of.  It’s something that I hate to admit, but I think if I just put the truth out there, I won’t feel so horrible about it.  It’s the epitome of a ‘guilty pleasure’.

What is causing me this shame and horror?

The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills is what!

“The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills” season 4 and “Vanderpump Rules” season 2 Cross-over premiere

There……..I said it!  I am addicted to the RHOBH.   I absolutely LOVE  those plastic, narcissistic and entitled girls!  I love the clothes, the hair, the houses, but most of all I love the cat fights.

It’s something I don’t think most men..or at least straight men can get behind.  I tried to explain my fascination with the incessant bickering, continual nastiness and overt pettiness of the ladies to the LOML by comparing it to a sport such as boxing.  Instead of actual physical sparring, my girls are verbally sparring.   Or maybe it’s comparable to football.  There are teams, there are different players with different strengths.  Sometimes one team is on the offense and sometimes they’re on the defense.  Actually, all of them are continually being defensive.  But, I love it anyway!! Yes, it’s all trivial and petty.  Yes, they’re all ridiculous!  It’s just mesmerizing to me as a woman to watch what goes down.

I mean most women will agree that words are the weapon of choice for girls.  We have all been there, either on the giving or the receiving side of girl fights.  It’s not pretty, but it is vaguely comfortable, especially if you’re just a spectator watching.

So the Beverly Hills gang likes to bicker and form little cliques and then fight over who said what and who went where…..it’s soooooo very embarrassing, but I watch it anyway!!  It’s not anything remotely resembling my current life and friendships, but it does bring me to that strangely instinctual place that I’m sure a good anthropologist could explain.  (or a psychiatrist!)

I myself have tried to examine my pull to these not very nice people, but since that would take too much self-awareness that I’m not willing to invest in, I’ll just emulate the posse and not go too deep or too meaningful.

Instead I’ll go general and say that the feminine archetypes are all there.

The Queen Bee….or in this case the competition for the Queen Bee.

LisaVanderpump-Giggy-630-jpg_171717

Real-Housewives-Bev-Hills-Kyle-Richards.jpg

The Bad Girl

Unknown
The Perfect Girl1
The Crazy GirlKim-Richards-600-400
The FREAK!
images
The Annoying Girl….or the Patty Simcox type..
Joyce1
And that’s just THIS season!  There has been a different cast of charachters with all sorts of drama for the last four long years!

So, basically, I get to re-live Junior high from the safety of my living room!  And the clothes are fantastic!

I would even be so bold as to say the housewives franchise is an ode to modern-day feminism. Do not scoff!  These woman are all very strong, accomplished…sort of……and kind of old!  The men in  their lives are mere backdrops to the bigger stories of the dynamics of the group.

To that end I only have to say…Team Kyle!!!  all the way and that Carlton woman is just so wrong on so many levels.  Beeyotch!

Okay, I’m done being a 7th grader!  Can’t wait for Monday nights!!!

Leave a Reply

