Vintage Wood Banquet Finally Finished

I got this beautiful old banquet cabinet from my friend Jennifer in exchange for refurbishing her vintage rocking chair.

I was thrilled when I got it, but I have to say, it was quite a challenge.  Although it was beautiful, it was kind of falling apart.  The drawers were dove-tail and kept collapsing every time I attempted to sand them.

The wood was beautiful, but it was beyond my pay grade to strip the entire thing.  I decided to leave the top it’s natural wood finish and paint the body my new favorite color in plumage from Martha Stewart.  I already did an old campaign chest in the color and I knew it would look great.

This piece will be for sale by next week.  It needs a few minor tweaks before it goes online so to speak.  I will post links to the listing when it’s up and running.

Any-who….Here it is before

_MG_4579

 

Here it is after.  After much stripping, sanding, nailing, glueing, wood filling, adding primer and painting!  (it was worth the effort I think!)_MG_5050

_MG_5051

_MG_5057

 

 

Leave a Reply

