Where to Find Vintage Furniture

Where to Find Furniture

I get a lot of questions about finding good quality furniture to refurbish, so I thought I would write a few tips on the subject.  Feel free to add your own suggestions.

1. Thrift Stores- Thrift stores are becoming a bit more savvy when it comes to pricing.  The days of $5.00 mid century modern credenza are over, however you can still get a great price, if you look, and if you’re  patient.  The Salvation Army always has 50 percent off days.  Ask the workers and see if they’ll give you a heads up when the next one will be.

This is a Goowill find

This is a Goowill find I purchased and remade for $75.00   

2. Garage/Estate Sales-go early or go late.  Big ticket items don’t always sell super quick at garage sales.  It’s kind of the luck of the draw.  Don’t overpay here either.  Make an offer.  I know from experience, it’s more about getting stuff out of my garage than making a big profit.

Beautiful estate sale vintage couch $50.00

Beautiful estate sale vintage couch $50.00

3. Family/Friends-Parents and grand-parents are a treasure trove of great old stuff.  Make an offer to them that you’ll pick up and move out any stuff they’re ready to let go of.  Then make sure you follow through.  Even if it’s hideous!  Just take it and wait for the gem hidden in the attic.

my mom gave me this adorable little cabinet.  i painted it red and it got HOT!

my mom gave me this adorable little cabinet. i painted it red and it got HOT!  

4. Alleyways and Curbs. I cannot tell you all the good stuff I have found in alleys and on the curb for bulky item pick up.  It’s obscene what people throw out.  I also like that this helps the environment and reduces the landfill.  Recycling vintage furniture is super green.  Another great tip is to find out the bulky item pick up day for upscale neighborhoods.  I found an amazing nightstand in West Hollywood once when I just happened upon their bulky item day.

This beautiful cabinet was begging to be saved as it sat sadly on the curb.I had to rescue!

This beautiful cabinet was begging to be saved as it sat sadly on the curb.I had to rescue!

5.  Antique or Vintage Stores.  Both brick and mortar and online stores on Etsy or Ebay are a treasure trove of goodies.  It’s more convenient, but you won’t always get the BEST deal here as the shop owners have to make a profit.  If you’re looking for something specific, this is a good option.  Again, make an offer and never pay full price unless you absolutely LOVE it and the shop owner can’t afford to go down.

got my great little credenza for $175.  Refubished they sell for $800 at the shop I purchased at.

I got my great little credenza at North Hollywood Antiques for $175. Refubished they sell this baby for $800.

There you have it!  These are just a few resources I use for finding great quality pieces.  Next up?  Buying on Craigslist.  Craigslist needed it’s own post all together.

Happy searching!

One thought on “Where to Find Vintage Furniture

  1. Pingback: Vintage Items For Sale!!! | Culturedig.netCulturedig.net

Leave a Reply

