Adventures in Paradise-A Photo Essay of Oahu

I finally got around to uploading and checking out all the pics I took from our May trip to Hawaii.  It was bittersweet because it brought back great memories, but I miss it already!!

I’m convinced you cannot take a bad photograph in Hawaii. I literally stuck the camera out the window and clicked!  I love the mix of tropical and pine with the big puffy clouds in the background.

These are shots of the house we stayed in.  It’s actually a two unit home with a small studio on the bottom floor.  We stayed in the little studio for the entire week surrounded by windows yet surprisingly private.

The view, the smells, the location was just perfect.  Plus, it was walking distance to the world famous Ted’s Bakery!,  (and after all the Ted’s Bakery I ate, it was good to walk up the hill to the house).  The property is pretty reasonably priced too.  Check the property website for more info. “Hale Luana”

This was part of the garden at the house.  Lush and colorful.  That purple color is just impossible! The groundskeeper was an aging hippie named Louise.  What a woman!  She had a green thumb and was the perfect hostesss.

Haleiwa Bay in all it’s green glory.

Waimea Bay and a lone paddle boarder.  We actually got to try SUP and it was surprisingly easy even for me!

This is the famous rock people jump from in Waimea Bay.  The LOML  had to do it!  (proof here!) Not once, but twice!  I’m about as sure footed as a potato, so I was the official photographer!

This is a rainbow Eucalyptus, that only grows in Hawaii.  Look at that bark!

I’m not sure where this was taken because on our way home from Oahu, we got so very lost.  But, all is good.  We came around a bend in the road and came upon the scene above.  Heavenly.

A shot of Waimea Bay with the church in the distance.

A beautiful Japanese Buddhist Temple and Mission right smack in the middle of an upscale residential neighborhood in Waialae Beach.

If you look close you can see all the surfers out the last night we were there.  The waves were huge and it was apparent from all the spectators that this was some prime surf at Sunset Beach.  The North Shore is the mecca of surfing, but the spring and summer months are pretty mellow.  During the winter the Vans Triple Crown competition is held up here.

That last night we were there was the best sunset of all.  Every other night the clouds had interrupted.  It was like a sweet gift given to us by the islands.  Breathtaking..words just don’t do it justice.

Happy faces and orchid lei’s.  I know I could make a joke about the lei, but I’ll refrain!  Needless to say, we had a great time and on a side note, I absolutely loved my dress!  Laundry by Shelli Segal at Burlington Coat Factory marked down 50%! I love a good deal!

Anyway, I have to say, it was one of the best visits to the islands ever.  It’s always fun to see it through someone else’s eyes.  The LOML had never been and I wanted to make sure he was SOLD on it.  Why?  Because next year we’re going to Kaui!!

Aloha & Mahalo!

Leave a Reply

