DIY Abstract Art Headboard

 I recently  saw a post about DIY headboards on Apartment Therapy.  The little lightbulb went off in my head and these three thoughts occured to me.
  1. I need a head board for the kids/guest room.
  2. I had a big piece of canvas that I use to test spray paint.
  3. I like abstract art.

So, my canvas, was of a hap hazard piece of abstract art in itself.  In fact I sometimes use it to ‘stage’ furniture I’m selling and hide the ugly fence in my back yard.  You can tell, it’s kind of um, well….Monet-ish?  Monet on a bad day, but whatever…I kept the canvas, because of my Rule #324 For Life, which states,  “You always need canvas”.
Anyway, I wanted to do something a little different.  I already had done my rendition of Mark Rothko.  Here it is with a piece of furniture I refurbished a few months ago.  It’s in my bedroom now because it’s very hazy and dreamy and makes me doze off when staring at it.  Not sure if that’s good or bad, but it works for a bedroom.
 I was reminded of the great abstract artist that I’ve always loved,  Franz Kline  after reading  Little Green Notebooks design blog.  His stuff is just so bold and vibrant, and dare I say it?  Easy to replicate!
Here is my inspiration piece which sold recently of $1,600,000.00.  Yes, all those zeros ARE correct ladies and gentlemen.  
So, I started making my masterpiece by painting my spare canvas white.

I added a little gold paint with a big brush.

After the gold dried I just slashed black paint wherever I damn well felt like it!  And here it is!

Actually, maybe it looks just as good sideways!  LOL  

No, it’s got to go vertical because of the way the bed and drapes are in the bedroom.  Scroll down to see the finished product.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Here it is all done and looking so very Soho Loft if I do say so myself.  Now, I know abstract isn’t every one’s cup of tea, but I like it.  It’s like looking at clouds.  What is it this to you?  I love it in all different kinds of intereriors, like this, this, and this.  See?  It’s cool.  Kline didn’t title his piece that inspired me, so it can be whatever I want it to be.  I choose it to be art AND a cool headboard!  ( or possibly Side Show Bob from the Simpson’s)

Leave a Reply

