Sycophant….Such a Fabulous Word

I used the word sycophant in a sentence a couple days of go and I was not only impressed with the fact that I knew such a big word, but that I pronounced it correctly.  Of course, I immediately pulled out my trusty  dictionary.com iPhone app, just to make sure.

Here is what it said:

syc·o·phant

  [sikuh-fuhnt, -fant, sahy-kuh]  Show IPA

noun

a self-seeking, servile flatterer; fawning parasite.

I also like some of the synonyms.
toady, flunky, fawner, flatterer, yes man


What a great word and the beauty of it was, the people I was describing fit the word PERFECTLY~ I’m surprised the individuals faces didn’t show up on my dictionary.com app when I typed in the word.

One of my favoriteS





I love words and I love when one word describes so much.  This is a perfect example.

I may be many things.  Self-centered, self-absorbed, pretentious! (ouch that one hurts), selfish, a pain, mercurial (another good one!), a show off, vain…vain….vain…..did I mention vain? But NEVER have I been a sycophant.  Something about it just runs counter to my nature.  I have also never attracted sycophants, although I have had people in my life who seems to be a magnet for this personality type.  I think it’s probably a perfect dance between two very needy, insecure people and I just don’t know the steps to that dance.  Thank-goodness!
and another!

As I get older I  realize what works for me and what doesn’t.  The further away I get from situations, the more clarity I have, the more peace I have, the more self acceptance I have.  Boy that feels good.  I don’t need some one telling me how great I am.  I feel it!

I want to be the strength in my life.  I want to be the person I look up to.  I strive to be the best me.  Sometimes, I fail, miserably, but since I’m authentic to my true self, hyper self aware and not trying to pretend I’m someone or something else, it’s always a win for me.

two greatest of all!  LOL

these guys!

Leave a Reply

